bridge information


Huffman's Mill Bridge

World Guide #14-62/74-01
(Perry Co./Spencer Co.)

Crossing the Anderson River and connecting the counties of Perry and Spencer, this 140 foot long Burr Arch truss structure was built by W.T. Washer in 1864. Bypassed in 2005, the Huffman Mill bridge is closed to traffic.

Tell City, established in 1814 and named in honor of Commodore Oliver H. Perry, is the County Seat of Perry.

Rockport, established in 1818 and named in honor of Captain Spier Spencer, who fought and died at the Battle of Tippecanoe, is the County Seat of Spencer.

Both Spencer and Perry Counties are located in South Central Indiana.

Perry County originally had four (4) covered bridges plus five (5) that were shared with Spencer County. Today only the Huffman Mill bridge remains.

Points of interest in Perry and Spencer Counties include: the Ohio River, Cannelton Locks & Dam, LaFayette Springs, St. Meinrad and Archabby, Christ of the Ohio Stature at Troy, Lincoln City State Park, Burial site of Nancy Hanks and Santa Claus which is home of Holliday World.