bridge information


The Jackson Bridge
World Guide #14-61-28
Parke County Guide #28

Jackson Bridge

Crossing Sugar Creek, this 225-foot long Burr Arch truss structure was built by J.J. Daniels in 1898 and is open to traffic.

The Jackson Covered Bridge over Sugar Creek is being rehabilitated. Work on the $1.4 million Federal Aid project is nearly complete. The project included the removal of the roof and siding. The bridge was removed from the abutments in February 2007 for rehabilitation. Vertical cross supports, unique to the Jackson Covered Bridge, were installed. The bridge was put back on the abutments in August 2007 and opened for traffic on October 9, 2007.

Photos of the rehabilitation can be seen here.

Parke County is the home of the nation's largest Covered Bridge Festival (see Established in 1821 and named in honor of the first territorial delegate to Congress, Benjamin Parke, this county is located in West Central Indiana and Rockville is the County Seat.

Parke County originally had fifty-seven (57) known covered bridges plus one (1) it shared with Vermillion County to it's west. Today it has thirty (30) remaining.

Points of interest in the County include: Turkey Run State Park, Billie Creek Village, Raccoon Lake Recreation Area, and all of the beautiful Covered Bridges.