bridge information


The Ceylon Bridge
World Guide #14-01-02

Ceylon Bridge

This 126 foot Howe Truss structure spans an old channel of the Wabash River in Adams County. It was built by the Smith Bridge Co. in 1862 and was bypassed in 1974.

Adams County was established in 1836 and is named in honor of John Quincy Adams, the sixth President of the United States. The county is located in Northeastern Indiana with its County Seat being situated in Decatur.

Adams County originally had nine (9) covered bridges. Today it has one (1) remaining.

Points of interest in the County include: Limberlost State Memorial, Amishville, and the First Mennonite Church at Berne